We are approaching the final weeks before this years annual Heart of Peninsula Care Awards being hosted by UTV’s Pamela Ballantine in the Marine Court Hotel on November 2nd.

These awards showcase the best in local healthcare talent both at Peninsula Care and the organisations we work with. Our guests are treated to a delicious meal and entertainment on the night as a real celebration for those working in the industry.

This week we reveal our Peninsula Care finalists each in each of our categories.

Newcomer of the Year

  • Julie McDowell
  • Lesley Anne O’Malley
  • Ahmed Muntasir
  • Sarah Donohue
  • Katie Graden

Learner of the Year

  • Donna Nickels
  • Lynne Groves
  • Alan Horner
  • Katrina Hunsdale

Giraffe of the Year

  • Joan Ferguson RN
  • Maxine Jones RN
  • Krystene Boreland RN
  • Tanya Russell CCW
  • Roxanne Choudry CCW
  • Chloe Kerry CCW
  • Janice McKay HCA
  • Pamela McClenaghan HCA
  • Jerzy Gwaizda HCA

Client Choice Award

  • Christine Deacon
  • Claire Savage
  • Heather Gaw
  • Anne McCarthy
  • Amanda Dowie
  • Kirtsy Lynch
  • Alan Horner

Unsung Hero

  • Heather McMillan
  • Michela Vaselli

Outstanding Achievement

  • Helen Riordan, Principle Trainer
  • Matthew Wylie, Assistant Manager
  • Doreen Bingham, Registered Manager


Manager of the Year

  • Kathie Stevenson, Beechvale Nursing Home
  • Mandy Lacey, Slieve Dhu Nursing Home
  • Demi Cox, Mencap
  • Margaret Millar, NIID


Senior Care Worker of the Year

  • Marion Foster, Slieve Dhu Nursing Home
  • Steven Rodgers, Slieve Dhu Nursing Home
  • Telma Adegas Abreu, Beechvale Nursing Home


Care Home Nurse of the Year

  • Natalie Moore, Beechvale Nursing Home
  • Alison Cairns, Slieve Dhu Nursing Home
  • Cheryl Sibley, Abbeyview Nursing Home


Supporting People Award

  • Stricklands Care Village, Bangor
  • David Gallagher, Mencap